Vibration, dynamics and noise

formerly BETA Machinery Analysis and SVT Engineering Consultants

Menu

往复式压缩机的设计需求

在设计阶段妥善处理振动风险,能大大提高可靠性。但并非所有的压缩机应用都有相同的风险。比如,小型压缩机受力较小,机械问题也少,然而以下机械则会具有更大风险:

  • 大型设备(功率超过500HP或375KW),因为他们会产生更高的脉动和振动力
  • 转速变化范围大的压缩机
  • 需要很多不同运行工况
  • 硫化氢气体,酸性气体,和其他类型的气体
  • 复杂管道系统、多级、海上应用、多机组站点或其他应用因素。
1 振动设计需求

以下表单提供了建议振动分析选项。基于应用风险等级,简述不同分析选项。

为判断风险等级,请参照 北塔风险评级表单(英文, Excel)

各种应用支持,敬请  联系北塔的服务人员

振动设计需求——按应用风险分类
                                                     应用风险
振动研究 很低 
  1. 扭振分析(TVA)
针对新的驱动/压缩机配置、以及操作工况的更改等,需要进行扭振分析。
  1. 脉动分析
仅缓冲罐尺寸设计 脉动分析(压缩机管道系统的声学研究)
  1. 机械振动分析
不适用 机械评审 MNF分析(频率规避) MNF+受迫响应分析
  1. 管道应力分析
    (热柔性)
当冷却器安装在撬块外时,特别推荐本分析
  1. 撬块设计和分析
不适用 不适用 撬块评审 撬块动态分析
可选服务吊装,运输,环境载荷分析
可选服务
  1. 小口径管道及连接(SBC)评估
评估小管道设计,评价应力并提供优化建议。包括车间测试和推荐的现场基线审核。 
  1. 基础设计分析或;
  2. 结构振动分析

此分析适用于安装于基桩或碎石上的大中型系统,以及关键应用。
 

强烈推荐为海上设备(平台,FPSO)进行动态结构分析。
  1. 站点管道脉动

  a. 撬块外管道;
         和/或

  b. 多单元分析

a. 针对撬块外(站点管道系统)远离压缩机的冷却器或涤气罐的脉动,以及汇管和设备管道系统进行脉动评估。
 

b. 多单元分析。多压缩机串联或并联时,对汇管和/或设备管道系统进行脉动评估。 
  1. 瞬态振动分析:

  a. 燃气增压器
        和/或

  b.ESD/放空阀  

a. 燃气增压器:保证从增压器压缩机至燃气涡轮机的脉动满足业主和原始设备制造商的需求。
 

b. ESD(放空阀分析)的瞬态喘振分析,保障管道系统经受瞬态事件时,应力处于可接受范围内。
2 标准振动研究

API 618标准和GMRC高速设备标准(详见下文)需要这些振动设计研究。这些研究高度整合,并使用相同的分析数据。为避免错误、矛盾建议以及延期,应将整体分析交给同一个顾问公司。

  1. 扭振动分析(TVA)评估系统传动系的扭转动态应力,考虑所有预期机械运行状态,包括异常或瞬态事件。基于质量-弹性模型、扭矩工作曲线、受迫响应等,提供建议,避免共振并保障扭转应力在标准之下。
  2. 脉动分析 分析进行管道系统的声学模拟,并推荐脉动控制解决方案。评估整体操作域和整个管道系统。基于优化设计提供解决方案,全面考虑脉动力、缓冲罐机械固有频率、压力降(以及对功耗的影响),还有投资成本等。标准研究包括20个运行工况,包括不同压力和流量控制。可添加额外的运行工况。
  3. 机械分析适于大中型设备。包括管道系统的机械评审,以及频率规避分析。使用有限元模型,输入某些关键频率脉动力和气体力,避免共振。对于高风险应用,建议使用受迫响应分析,计算振动和应力幅度。报告中包括共振避免建议或共振管理建议。
  4. 管道应力分析(热学分析)评估压缩机和冷却器或其他工艺管道之间的热载荷,或冷却塔/容器接口载荷。使用恰当的边界条件,避免过于简化的假设比如“完全固定”或“刚体假设”。可以包括管道支撑设计。
  5. 撬块设计和分析。撬块评审保障关键位置有足够刚度和恰当的受力方式。可以包括吊装、运输以及环境载荷。动态分析对压缩机系统进行受迫响应分析,分析中的动态力包括驱动载荷、气体力、十字头力以及重要的脉动力等。
3 可选振动研究

好的设计实践经常需要以下额外的工程服务:

  1. 小口径管道及连接评估 强烈推荐,可以避免气体泄漏和振动引发的故障。SBC的故障是最常见的压缩机系统管道故障。通常,这些连接处会发生共振,所以即使主管道有小幅振动,也会引发小管道部件剧烈振动并损坏。请见下列推荐文献,了解更多信息。我们还推荐进行车间或现场测试,测量实际的小管道固有频率以及振动。
  2. 基础设计和动态分析 大型压缩机通常需要评估基础,保障其不会因为压缩机产生的力而共振。
  3. 结构振动和动态设计分析(FPSO,作业平台)强烈推荐用于海上应用。因为这些设备不会有实体(比如水泥砖块等)来支持压缩机撬,所以作业平台和FPSO上的甲板和横梁经常会同压缩机,发动机产生共振。该研究提供避免共振的建议。请参见北塔官网,获取更多结构振动信息。
  4. 站点管道脉动
    1. 撬块外或站点管道。北塔将提供压缩机机组以外的管道脉动评估(若可获得相关信息)。当冷却器和/或涤气罐位于压缩机机组外时,或当需要对汇管以及管路系统进行脉动分析时,该附加分析非常重要。
    2. 站点分析(压缩机间相互作用)。当某压缩机站点采用多台往复式压缩机,或结合使用往复式与离心式压缩机时,需要注意避免进气和排气部件的脉动相互作用。该研究评估了脉动相互作用,并提供设计建议,最小化脉动幅度。
  5. 瞬态分析:
    1. 燃气增压器分析(供气/受气系统影响)。燃气涡轮机对原料气进气要求严格。进气过高的压力脉动将影响涡轮机的运行。北塔开发出独特的方法,评估在涡轮机进气口的压力脉动,并提供建议,确保达到要求。
    2. 放空分析。在一些高压应用中,比如气体存储应用中的多压缩机系统,当排气阀因瞬态事件打开时,会产生高能的‘流体锤’力和振动。放空分析有助于判定排气阀打开的时序和时间间隔,以及确定放空管道和支架的布局。
4 行业标准(API,GMRC)

三个已经公布的现行标准,来支持以上振动研究,它们是:

  • GMRC高速机标准(2013)该标准为设计可靠的高速压缩机系统(750 RPM以上)补充了很多信息。虽然本标准针对天然气管线和存储应用,但也适用于任何高速机应用。第6、7、以及13章,以及附件3、6、7,中有振动控制的要求。
  • API 618,第5版,第7章。该标准应用于低速压缩机系统(<750RPM)。该标准源于炼油厂/石化工业等使用大型压缩机的工业。该标准定义了压缩机以及相关管道的振动需求,但并没有规范基础、撬块、小口径管道等其他区域。新版标准将有望于2014年出台。
  • API 688该标准由实践建议(RP-688)发展而来,即将作为API标准颁布。该标准针对于往复式压缩机以及泵,并将包含振动和脉动相关问题的详细信息。

API 618定义的评价:

API 618设计方法包括脉动分析和机械分析。在早期版本,API使用“M”术语来描述组件的设计方法。该术语仍广泛地被工程师使用。例如:

设计方法2 (DA2):M2和M4:包括带有机械评审的脉动研究
设计方法3 (DA3):M2-M5:基本脉动和机械分析(避免共振)。M6和M7分别为压缩机撬内,撬外管道机械分析(受迫响应)。 

5 相关服务
  1. 扭振分析(TVA)
  2. 机械分析
  3. 管道应力分析
  4. 撬块设计和分析
  5. 小口径管道评估
  6. 基础设计和动态分析
  7. 动态结构振动设计分析
  8. 工厂管道脉动:设计方法3的可选部分。机械分析
  9. 燃料气体压缩机管道瞬态分析

往复式压缩机

返回页首

Vibration, dynamics and noise

formerly BETA Machinery Analysis and SVT Engineering Consultants

Menu

Design Requirements for Reciprocating Compressors

High reliability is achieved when the vibration related risks are properly addressed during the design phase. But not all compressor applications contain the same risk. For example, small compressors may have less forces and mechanical problems while higher risks are faced with:

  • Larger units (over 500 HP or 375 KW) because they generate higher pulsations and shaking forces
  • Compressors operating across a wide speed range
  • Requiring many different operating conditions
  • H2S, acid gas, and other types of gases
  • More complicated piping systems, more stages, offshore applications, multiple units at a station, or other application factors     
1 Vibration Design Requirements

The following chart provides the suggested scope of vibration engineering. Based on the application risk level, the different activities and options are identified and briefly summarized.

To determine the application risk, please refer to Wood’s risk rating chart (Excel)
For application assistance, please do not hesitate in contacting Beta’s support staff.  

Vibration Design Requirements – By Application Risk
  APPLICATION RISK
Vibration Study Component Very Low  Low Medium High
  1. Torsional Vibration Analysis (TVA)
A TVA is required for new driver/compressor configuration, change in operating conditions, etc.
  1. Pulsation Analysis
Bottle Sizing only Pulsation Analysis (acoustic study of compressor piping system)
  1. Mechanical Vibration Analysis
n/a Mechanical Review MNF Analysis (frequency avoidance) MNF + Forced Response Analysis
  1. Pipe Stress Analysis
    (Thermal Flexibility)
Strongly recommended (required) when coolers mounted off-skid
  1. Skid Design and Analysis
n/a n/a Skid Review Skid Dynamic Analysis
Option: Lifting; and/or Transportation/Environmental Loading Analysis
Options
  1. Small-Bore Connection (SBC) Assessment
Evaluation of SBC design to assess stress and provide recommendations for improvement. Includes shop testing and recommended field baseline audit. 
  1. Foundation Design Analysis  or;
  2. Structural Vibration Analysis

Evaluation of foundation design recommended for medium to large units mounted on piles or gravel, and for critical applications.
 

Structural Dynamic Analysis is strongly recommended for offshore facilities (Platforms, FPSO).
  1. Station Piping Pulsations

  a. Off-skid Piping;
          and/or

  b. Multi-unit Analysis

a. Off-Skid (Station Piping). To assess pulsations in coolers and scrubbers located away from a compressor, or to assess pulsations in headers and plant piping system.
 

b. Multi-Unit Analysis. Evaluate pulsations in header/plant piping when multiple compressors are connected together in series or parallel. 
  1. Transient Vibration Analysis:

  a. Fuel Gas Booster
         and/or

  b. ESD/ Blowdown 

a. Fuel Gas Booster: Ensure pulsation limits from booster compressor to gas turbine meet the owners and OEM specifications.
 

b. Transient surge analysis of ESD (blowdown analysis) to ensure acceptable stress to the piping system during ESD events.
2 Standard Vibration Studies

The API 618 Standard and GMRC High-Speed Guideline (discussed below) require these vibration design studies. The studies are highly integrated and share common input files and assumptions. To avoid errors, conflicting recommendations, and delays, one consultant should perform all studies.

  1. Torsional Vibration Analysis (TVA).  Evaluates torsional dynamic stress of the unit drive train for all anticipated machine operating conditions, including upset or transient conditions. Provides recommendations to avoid resonance and ensure torsional stress is below guideline, based on a mass-elastic model, torque effort curves, forced response, etc.
  2. Pulsation Analysis. Performs an acoustic simulation of the piping system and recommends a pulsation control solution. Evaluates the entire operating map and piping system. Provides solution based on an optimized design that considers pulsation forces, bottle mechanical natural frequency, pressure drop (and impact on power consumption), and capital costs. A standard study includes 20 operating conditions, including pressures and load steps. Option to add additional operating conditions.
  3. Mechanical Analysis. Recommended for medium and large installations. Include a mechanical review of piping system and frequency avoidance analysis. Assesses pulsation forces and gas forces across relevant harmonics to avoid resonance conditions, using a finite element model. For higher risk applications, forced response analysis is recommended to calculate vibration and stress amplitudes. Deliverables includes recommendations to avoid resonance, or to manage resonance.  
  4. Pipe Stress Analysis (Thermal Flexibility Study). Evaluates thermal loads between compressor and coolers, other process piping, and cooler/vessel nozzle loads. Appropriate boundary conditions used to avoid simplistic assumptions such as “anchor” or “rigid.” Can include pipe support design.
  5. Skid Design and Analysis. Skid review ensures adequate stiffness and load path at key locations. Can include lifting, transportation, and environmental loading. Dynamic analysis includes forced response applying compressor and driver loads, gas forces, crosshead forces and significant pulsation forces
3 Optional Vibration Studies

Good design practices often require additional engineering, as outlined below:

  1. Small-Bore Connections Assessment. Highly recommended to avoid gas releases and vibration-induced failures. The failure of SBC is the most common piping failure on a compressor system. Often these connections are resonant, so small vibrations on the main pipe can cause these components to vibrate excessively and fail. See recommended articles below for more information. A shop or field test is also recommended to measure actual MNFs and vibrations.
  2. Foundation Design and Dynamic Analysis for large compressors. It is common practice to evaluate the foundation and ensure it will not be resonant with the compressor forces.
  3. Structural Vibration and Dynamic Design Analysis (FPSO, Platforms). Highly recommended for offshore applications as these facilities do not have the solid mass (e.g., concrete block) to properly support the compressor skid, so decks and beams on platforms and FPSOs are often resonant with the compressor(s) and engine(s). This study provides recommendations to avoid resonance.  See Wood’s website for more on structural vibration.
  4. Plant Piping Pulsations:
    1. Off-skid or Station Piping. Wood will assess pulsations in piping away from the compressor package (if information is available). This added level of analysis is valuable when coolers and/or scrubbers are located away from the compressor package, or when pulsations need to be analyzed in the headers and plant piping system.
    2. Station Analysis (interaction between compressors). When multiple reciprocating compressors or a combination of reciprocating and centrifugal compressors are used at a compressor station, care is needed to avoid pulsation interaction in the suction or discharge headers. This study evaluates the pulsation interaction and provides design recommendations to minimize pulsation amplitudes.
  5. Transient Analysis:
    1. Fuel Gas Booster Analysis (Receiver Sizing Transients). Gas turbines require a tight tolerance on its feed gas. Pressure pulsations that are too high will affect the turbine operations. Wood has developed a unique approach to evaluating these pressure pulsations at the inlet to the turbine, and provide recommendations to ensure limits are achieved. 
    2. Blowdown Analysis. With high-pressure application such as gas storage with multiple compressors, high ‘fluid hammer’ forces and vibration will be generated when blow down valves are opened for ESD. The blowdown analysis will help to determine the sequences and time interval of opening of blow down valves, payout of blow down piping and supports.  
4 Industry Standards (API, GMRC)

Three well-established standards for completing the above vibration studies are:

  • GMRC High-Speed Guideline (2013). This Standard provides extensive information for designing a reliable high-speed compressor system (750 RPM and higher). While targeted for gas pipeline and storage applications, it can be used for any high-speed application. Chapters 6, 7, and 13, and appendices 3, 6, and 7 are directly related to vibration control.   
  • API 618 5th Edition, Chapter 7. This Standard applies to low-speed compressor systems (<750 RPM). It originated in the refinery/petrochemical industry where large compressors are typically used. The Standard defines the vibration requirements for compressors and related piping but does not address foundation, skid, small-bore connections, or other areas. A new edition is expected to be released in 2014.
  • API RP 688. Originally developed as a Recommended Practice (RP-688), this will soon be released as an API Vibration Standard for positive displacement machinery including reciprocating compressors, pumps, screw compressors, and more. It will contain specifications for design considerations of positive displacement machinery, and will eventually supersede the vibration requirements of the individual standards themselves (API 618, 617, 674, etc.).

Comments on API 618 Definitions:

API 618 Design Approach includes both Pulsation Analysis and Mechanical Analysis.  In earlier editions, API used “M” nomenclature to describe components of a Design Approach. This nomenclature is still widely used by some engineers. For example:

  • Design Approach 2 (DA2):  M2 and M4: includes pulsation study with mechanical review
  • Design Approach 3 (DA3): M2-M5: basic pulsation and mechanical analysis (resonance avoidance). M6 and M7 studies are advanced mechanical analysis (forced response) on compressor manifold and off-skid piping.  
5 Related Services
  1. Torsional Vibration Analysis (TVA)
  2. Mechanical Analyses
  1. Pipe Stress Analysis
  2. Skid Design and Analysis
  3. Small-Bore Connections Assessment
  4. Foundation Design and Dynamic Analysis
  5. Structural Vibration and Dynamic Design Analysis
  6. Plant Piping Pulsations: optional part of 3. Mechanical Analysis
  7. Fuel Gas Compressor Piping Transient Analysis

Reciprocating Compressors Overview

Back to top