Vibration, dynamics and noise

formerly BETA Machinery Analysis and SVT Engineering Consultants

Menu

液体泵系统(包括液体管道)

泵和与之相通的管道系统可能经受振动整体风险,包括稳态运行振动和瞬态振动(水锤现象)。为使系统适应这类振动,需要多加关注,来估计、预见以及控制您系统独特的振动特点。

比如,对往复式泵而言,需要考虑吸气和排气管道的脉动,需要特殊设计保障安装的安全性。

虽然离心式泵系统通常比较可靠,但其也会经受共振和振动问题。

对于经受波动运行状态的系统,会有更高的整体性风险,会导致瞬态相关的振动、损坏以及由此引发的液体泄露。

针对如何处理所有类型的泵系统振动,此处汇总了主要设计和故障排除的注意事项。

1 所有泵系统的标准设计需求
1.1 水锤现象分析(瞬态压力喘振)

液体管道系统的瞬态动量改变,会产生大量突发的压力喘振,进而导致水锤现象,或瞬态喘振,引起管道破裂、部件损坏,液体泄漏。

管道的水锤现象会引起瞬态事件,比如泵的启动、停止、紧急停机(ESD)、排放阀启用、阀门摆动,以及检查阀关闭。水锤分析,即是对此类瞬态事件对管道影响进行评估。

对大多数大型管道系统来说,精确的动态模拟是一个需求。北塔全面考虑系统的运行工况范围,并使用已经过实践的瞬态模拟解算器,为每一种瞬态情况都计算出相应的系统瞬态响应。这样就确保提供精确的建议,以防止水锤现象的发生。

1.2 小口径连接(SBC)评估

通常,最容易忽略的、影响泵设施的整体性/可靠性风险的是小口径管道振动和故障。振动导致的损坏会引起部件故障和液体泄漏。小口径附件,通常指用于仪器仪表、传输管道、通风管、排水管以及旁路等,标准管道直径小于2英寸的分支连接。

这些部件在设计阶段几乎不会被考虑成振动因素;而结果往往是,这里成为了您最大的设备故障风险。在我们现场故障排除人员处理过的全球故障中,小口径管道的振动问题和故障占比超过了60%。

您设备的每个小口径连接都应当进行评估测试,以避免振动故障风险。

2 液体管线系统

液体管线系统通常处理不同的液体(密度、粘度、体积模量)、压力以及流量。例如,一些站点具有串联泵机组,系统根据运行需求,切换0、1、2或3个泵。

启动、停止以及液体的改变,都会产生很多瞬态运行工况,会激励小口径连接。

根据在各泵站的上百个现场测试案例,北塔得出瞬态振动对整体性威胁最大的结论。对于这些系统,需要全面的现场评估(基线测试项目),以辨别高风险区域并降低风险。

3 往复式泵

往复式泵(包括柱塞泵)会由于脉动和机械力而产生高振动和管道故障。在泵系统中,越来越多使用变速驱动(VSD或VFD)会更易导致机械和声学共振,并需要更复杂的振动分析。

3.1 脉动和机械分析

API674、675和688定义了所需的脉动(声学)和机械分析。该分析将建议合理的脉动控制解决方案、管道布局以及脉动支架设计。

3.2 口径连接

见上,章节1.2。

4 基础动态力

不同类型的泵基础,如板块基础、钢结构或混凝土基础,安装或改造都需要不同的设计考量。比如说,在钢模块或平台上安装的泵,需要进行基础设计和动力分析。而针对基于混凝土基础或基座的大型泵(比如泥浆泵),则需要进行结构振动和动态设计分析——需要对基座,包括其周围的土壤状况进行模拟分析。

5 可选的设计需求
5.1 簧片临界频率(RCF)分析

立式涡轮泵具有临界频率,在启动、停机以及常规运行时可能共振。这些临界频率也就是RCF,也称作悬臂模式的机械固有频率。判断RCF是否处于泵的运行速度范围内是很重要的。若处于,则会引起高幅振动,导致地表和地下部件的故障。

5.2 扭振分析(TVA)

扭振通常发生于泵系统的启动和稳态运行中。对于新系统来说,瞬态事件是非常重要的问题。扭振分析(TVA)可以降低瞬态和稳态扭振风险,通过传动系建模、动力扭转应力计算,确保每个传动单元可以承受这些压力。

5.3 横向振动分析

泵传动系的横向振动可视为当轴在旋转时,轴元件的实际弯曲。通常,泵制造商会考虑泵轴的横向振动,但不会考虑联轴器、驱动轴,和任何减速元件如变速箱。横向振动问题会引起过早的轴承故障,引起结构共振,并导致高幅振动。为立式泵考虑横向振动是非常重要的,因为它们自身特性很容易造成在横向机械固有频率(MNF)的共振。

北塔机械分析是全球的高级振动分析服务专家,涉及设计、测试和故障排除。我们累积了大量的现场经验、实践设计方案以及响应式服务,是行业内的全球领军企业。

返回页首

Vibration, dynamics and noise

formerly BETA Machinery Analysis and SVT Engineering Consultants

Menu

Liquid Pumping Systems (Including Liquid Pipelines)

Pumps and the associated piping system can experience vibration integrity risks including steady operation vibrations and transient vibrations (water hammer). For the system to accommodate these vibrations, special attention is required to predict, anticipate, and accommodate your system’s unique vibration characteristics.

For example, reciprocating pumps, given the pulsations in the suction and discharge lines, require special design considerations for a safe installation.

While centrifugal type pump systems are generally very reliable, they also can experience resonance and dynamic problems.

Integrity risks are even higher for systems that experience fluctuating operating conditions that lead to transient-related vibration, failures, and the associated loss of containment.

This summary outlines the major design and troubleshooting considerations for addressing vibration on all types of pumping systems.

1 Standard Design Requirements For All Pumping Systems
1.1 Water Hammer Analysis (Transient Pressure Surge)

Transient momentum changes in the liquid piping system can create large and sudden pressure surges that can lead to ruptured piping, cracked fittings, and fluid release in a phenomenon known as water hammer or transient surge.

The Water Hammer Analysis evaluates the effects of water hammer on the piping system from transient events such as pump startup, shutdown, emergency shutdown (ESD), relief valve activation, valve swings, and check valve closures.

Accurate dynamic simulation is a requirement for most large piping systems. BETA considers the range of operating conditions for your system and calculates the system response of each transient scenario using a proven transient simulation solver. This ensures accurate recommendations to prevent water hammer in your piping system. 

1.2 Small-Bore Connection (SBC) Assessment

The most often overlooked integrity/reliability risk affecting pump facilities is small-bore piping vibration and failures. Vibration-induced fatigue can cause component failure and liquid release. Small-bore attachments are usually branch connections less than 2” nominal pipe diameter used for instrumentation, transmitters, vents, drains, bypass, etc. 

These items are rarely considered for vibration characteristics at the design stage and, as a result, represent the single largest risk of vibration failure for your facility.  Small-bore vibration problems and failures represent over 60% of the issues that our field troubleshooters attend to globally.

Each small-bore connection in your facility should be evaluated and tested for vibration failure risk.

2 Liquid Pipeline Systems

Large pipeline systems often handle different fluids (densities, viscosities, bulk moduli), pressures, and flow rates. For example some stations have multiple pumps in series, and the system may change between 0, 1, 2, or 3 pumps as required by operations.

Starting, stopping, and changing fluids can create many transient operating conditions that can excite the small-bore connections.

Based on hundreds of field tests at pumping stations, BETA has identified that transient vibration is a significant integrity risk. For these systems, a comprehensive Site Assessment (baseline test program) is required to identify high risk locations and mitigate the risks.

3 Reciprocating Pumps

Reciprocating pumps (including plunger pumps) can create high vibration and piping failures due to pulsations and mechanical forces. The increased use of variable speed drives (VSD or VFD) in pumping systems creates more likelihood for mechanical and acoustical resonance and this results in more complicated vibration analysis.

3.1 Pulsation and Mechanical Analysis

API 674, 675, and 688 define the required Pulsation (acoustical) and Mechanical analysis. The analysis will recommend the appropriate pulsation control solution, piping layout, and pipe support design.

3.2 Small-Bore Connections

See above, Section 1.2

4 Foundation Dynamics

Different types of pump foundations whether base plate, steel structure, or concrete foundations, require different dynamic design considerations for new installations and revamps. For example, pumps mounted on a steel module or platform require a Foundation Design and Dynamic Analysis, whereas large pumps (such as slurry pumps) on concrete foundations and piles require a Structural Vibration and Dynamic Design Analysis – a dynamic simulation of the piles including the surrounding soil conditions.

5 Optional Design Requirements
5.1 Reed Critical Frequency (RCF) Analysis

Vertical turbine pumps have critical frequencies that can resonate during startups, shutdowns, and regular operation. These critical frequencies are known as RCFs, or cantilever mode mechanical natural frequencies. It is important to determine if the RCF will fall into the operating speed range of the pump. This would cause high vibration leading to above ground and below ground component failures.

5.2 Torsional Vibration Analysis (TVA)

Torsional vibration can occur during the start-up and steady operation of the pump system. Transient events can be an important issue with new systems. The TVA will mitigate the transient and steady state torsional risks by modeling the drive train, calculating dynamic torsional stresses, and ensuring each drive train element can handle those stresses without failure.

5.3 Lateral Vibration Analysis

Lateral vibration of a pump drive train can be visualized as the actual bending of the shaft elements while the shaft is in rotation. Lateral vibration of the pump shaft is normally considered by the pump OEM, but this often does not include consideration of the coupling, driver shaft, and any speed reducing elements such as a gearbox. Lateral vibration problems can cause premature bearing failures, excite structural resonance, and cause high vibration. Considering lateral vibration is especially important for vertical pumps due to their inherent excitability of lateral mechanical natural frequencies (MNF) causing resonance.

BETA Machinery Analysis is a global expert in advanced vibration services, including design, testing and troubleshooting. Our leadership in this industry is based on our extensive field experience, practical design solutions, and responsive service.

Back to top