Vibration, dynamics and noise

formerly BETA Machinery Analysis and SVT Engineering Consultants

Menu

脉动和机械分析:往复式压缩机

该分析包括脉动研究、机械评估、共振规避分析,以及按需提供的受迫响应分析(根据API618,API688,以及GMRC高速压缩机标准)

API 618 Pulsation & Mechanical Analysis: Reciprocating Compressor station

对于低于750RPM转速的压缩机,研究将根据API618,针对慢速压缩机的脉动和振动标准执行。  

对于更高速的压缩机,振动分析根据GMRC的高速压缩机标准以及API688执行。GMRC标准基于API标准,但更适用于高速压缩机的独特需求。 

该脉动和机械分析在设计阶段实施。和该分析通常并行进行的还有扭振分析、小口径管道分析,以及完全为压缩机机组设计的其他相关工程研究。

Speak to an expert

1 分析范围

根据风险和应用,振动案例包含不同的分析。标准分析通常包括:

根据应用,可能会需要以下研究:

这些服务彼此相关联,来综合解决一切关于压缩机,包括撬块外管道系统的振动风险。请注意,北塔还提供泵以及相关管道系统的振动控制。

以下两个步骤将帮助您测定,您的压缩机需要哪些服务:

  1. 为应用判定风险类型。请联系我们的应用支持来获取协助,或使用北塔风险评级表单 (英文, EXCEL)
  2. 基于风险,判定推荐的分析范围。
    更多关于范围和选项的信息,请参见往复式压缩机的设计要求

 

1.1 脉动(声学)分析
降低脉动力示例
   
原始系统
(没有经过脉动控制分析)

经北塔脉动控制处理后
(用时域方法模拟结果)

脉动力大于 11,000 lbf

脉动力小于200 lbf, 远低于允许值

脉动(声学)分析应用于“中”或“高”风险设备。
请见风险评级表单(英文, EXCEL)

DataMiner pulsation forces

DataMiner™数据挖掘软件可显示上百个工况,及位置的脉动压力,脉动力等振动相关数据。阅读更多了解DataMiner 为什么可以为项目提供更多的价值。  

其特色功能包括:

  • 缓冲罐尺寸设计  在线缓冲罐尺寸设计工具为压缩机布局提供良好的开始。为满足客户可以尽早订购缓冲罐头部件和壳部件的要求,北塔能在2-4个工作日内(一般情况下)完成详细的脉动缓冲罐尺寸设计评估方案。
  • 运行性能检测  压缩机运行性能分析可用于评估完整的压缩机运行工况状况。
  • 标准服务,总共评估不超过20个工况。
  • 注意:对一些应用,20个工况点并不能彻底评估。某些重要区域也许会被忽略,导致过量脉动。在这些情况中,需要进行额外工况的评估(请见下面的选项1.3)
  • 北塔将计算已知工况下的脉动以及其他动力载荷,考虑包括压力、温度、气体组成、余隙、阀卸荷和转速范围等因素。  
  • 脉动压力  北塔将使用MAPAK模拟软件评估脉动压力大小以及脉动引发的脉动力,为了更精确的进行脉动分析,相比频域法,我们更推荐时域声学模拟。更多脉动软件的信息
  • 脉动调节  脉动可以通过滤波器、缓冲罐、孔板、谐振器和/或改造管道布置进行调节。脉动控制(压力和脉动力)参照API618(最新版本)或其他经现场证实的标准进行。
  • 气缸垂直力  北塔使用的独特方法可以更准确评估气缸和脉动缓冲罐之间的脉动力。
  • 压降  北塔的独特分析方法,可以评估像孔板或滤波管这样的脉动控制元件所带来的静态和整体压降(根据API618标准)。整体压降包括动态压降损失。报告结果中会将脉动控制对压缩机流量负载的影响做出评估。
  • 管道约束分析(机械系统简评) 本项会通过使用图表、实证计算和良好的工程设计经验,对管道支撑位置进行评估。
  • 结果和报告  北塔的DataMiner软件工具和报告方法,能提供对您有价值的压缩机脉动和运行性能预测。 

脉动模型(左)可以计算系统所有位置在所有工况点的脉动压力和不平衡力。这个例子说明了第三级中间系统。红色箭头长短代表力的大小。脉动控制缓冲罐(右)中有滤波管、挡板和容积室。这样可以过滤、阻碍脉动,并且将力降低到可接受的水平。

1.2 机械分析
1.2.1 规避共振频率

机械分析的第一步是计算系统的机械固有频率(MNF),辨别共振可能发生的频率和位置,并提供优化设计的建议。 

该研究是设计方法3(DA3)API 618标准要求的,包括以下方面:

  •  有限元(FE)模型  北塔能快速构建精确的压缩机、容器、管道系统,以及撬块关键区域(若需要)的FE模型。对于更加精确的结果,可以在模型中包含压缩机机身的详细模型和/或整个撬块和基础。北塔使用ANSYS软件,保障所有FE模型获取精确结果。一些管道有限元分析程序,并不推荐用于本分析。
  • 精确度 使用壳体或固体微元,精确建立复杂几何模型。其中包括转动惯性情况。北塔在构建模型时使用自己的数据库信息。确立准确的涤气罐边界条件,气缸参数等。这些信息的积累依赖超过40年的工作经验,以及对众多设备制造商的压缩机的实地测试。
  • 结构固有频率(MNFs)系统中的关键部件的结构固有频率和振型将在报告中提供。
  • 避免共振  结构固有频率应当在压缩机运行速度两倍之上20%,并与其他具有显著力作用的倍频间隔20%。
  • 结果和报告 北塔将提供详细报告,总结建议和机械分析结果。 

请观看视频,得到更多信息:往复式压缩机的机械分析(视频, 英文)

机械分析需要精确的压缩机管道系统有限元模型(见上),来测定结构固有频率并避免共振。模型还可以用于受迫响应研究(可选服务,见下),来测定振动幅度和应力大小。为避免问题发生,需要现场经验和测量,来精确提供边界条件、动态力以及可执行建议。

1.2.2 受迫响应分析

当避免频率重合的建议不能达成或实施时,我们推荐进行此项研究。该研究包括所有重要的压缩机受力(包括气缸气体力、脉动力、扭转及轴向激励——下面可选服务等),并且将根据API 618标准进行振动和应力评估。该研究在下列两个位置施行:

  • 压缩机主块系统(步骤3b1,之前API M.6研究)包括对缓冲罐、涤气罐,压缩机主机的周围管线;以及
  • 压缩机主块以外的管线系统(步骤3.b.2,管道动态应力分析)(之前的M.7研究).当脉动力大于允许值,或避免共振的分析推荐不能实施时,推荐进行该研究。

机械分析需要精确的压缩机管道系统有限元模型(见上),来测定结构固有频率并避免共振。模型还可以用于受迫响应研究,来测定振动幅度和应力大小。为避免问题发生,需要现场经验和测量,来精确提供边界条件、动态力以及可执行建议。

1.3 可选分析

除了API 618标准设计方法3(DA3)或GMRC 高速机组标准外,下面的可选分析也是经常需要的。参见其1.1和1.2节内容。

​该研究是API 618标准设计方法3(DA3)要求的,包括以下方面:


 

 
  • 小口径管道连接(SBC) 根据应用和客户的风险容错度,北塔提供一系列服务进行小口径管道的设计、分析和测试。 关于小口径管道的可选服务​
  • 额外运行工况(超过20个标准工况)对于一些应用,20个工况运行点不能完全覆盖工况和流量控制的范围,不能发现所有潜在脉动和振动问题。北塔可以协助您,选择合适数量的工况进行分析。
  • 扭转及轴向激励  确定压缩机主机和主块上扭转和轴向激励带来的风险、振动影响以及减小方法。对大功率压缩机推荐该分析。如北塔同时进行扭振分析,则该分析费用为最低,因为扭振和机械分析是紧密结合的。计算得出由主轴扭转作用产生的力,并作为受迫响应分析中的输入。通过包含所有作用在压缩机上的的重要力,北塔能评估系统振动和应力。
  • 撬块外或工作站管道  北塔将提供压缩机机组撬块外的管道脉动评估(若有相关信息)。当冷却器和/或涤气罐位于压缩机撬块外时,或当需要对汇管以及整个管系进行脉动分析时,该附加分析非常重要。
  • 多机组分析(机组间相互作用)当多个压缩机彼此并联或串联时,北塔将针对汇管以及管路系统,包括机组间的相互作用进行脉动分析。该选项适用于多台往复式压缩机,或往复式和离心式压缩机组的组合。
  • 脉动功率影响(系统运行分析)脉动控制将导致管道系统中的压力降和功率损失。为了更精确地了解功率损失以及对压缩机运行的影响,该选项将评估整个管道系统的脉动功耗(包括脉动控制元件造成的功耗)。基于对脉动损失的精确了解,我们会生成一份额外的压缩机运行性能报告。该服务对判断在输送等关键应用中的驱动机/压缩机的选型配置是否合适,具有重要意义。 

根据需求,我们还提供以下可选服务:

  • 容器内应力计算(之前被称为M8,API 618)该分析在管壁和容器内部,加载了脉动力和压力引发的静态力,来计算应力大小。
  • 压缩机阀动态分析(之前被称为M9,API 618)该有限元分析可以保障压缩机阀的固有频率不会在声共振频率的+/- 10%内,并保证阀的脉动大小,在压缩机阀的固有频率的+/- 10%内不会超过管线压力的2%。全面(扩展)分析将评估压缩机阀和系统脉动之间的相互作用。
  • 低循环疲劳分析(之前被称为M10,API 618)。当应用ASME标准2时,该分析用来预测由热梯度、热瞬态和压力周期带来的应力。该分析用于计算在缓冲罐中的脉动抑制设备和内部元件上,来自热梯度、热瞬态和压力周期的应力。这些应力和ASME标准进行对比。
  • 燃料气体增压压缩机- 接收机尺寸/瞬态研究  该分析可以调整接收机的尺寸,防止离心式压缩机由于上游压强突然下降引起的瞬态喘振(通常因系统中某往复式压缩机失效所致)。北塔可以评审客户的压缩机调节系统逻辑、响应特性并判定往复式压缩机和离心式压缩机之间合适的系统容量,从而确保避免喘振的发生。阅读更多
  • ESD管道的瞬态喘振分析(气体放空)在高压应用,比如多压缩机的气体存储系统中,当放空阀为ESD打开时,会产生高能的‘流体锤’力和振动。放空分析有助于判定放空阀打开的时序和时间间隔,以及对管道和支架产生的振动影响。北塔能为放空阀的开闭控制时间提供建议。
脉动缓冲罐的模型分析示意结构固有频率和振型。 脉动缓冲罐的低循环疲劳分析(M10)。 容器内应力计算(M8)。
2 北塔优势

北塔机械分析公司是全球脉动分析的领军者,具有独一无二的优势:

  • 北塔早在1970年代就成为了数字声学模拟发展的佼佼者。从那时起,该公司每年都会大力投入于声学模拟工具开发和现场验证,以保证其MAPAK软件处于世界领先水平。目前Mapak软件基于时域分析,包括非线性流体动力,及根据时间变化的边界条件;这是更高频域声学模拟分析的重要特性。这些重要的特性功能,也是其它小公司所使用的商用软件所不具备的。
  • 更多优势特性,包括更优化的工况分析、更精确的边界条件以及更优化的撬块外管道分析。
  • 更好的质量控制和项目管理经验。注重质量、技术评审,以及有效的客户交流,造就更成功的项目。
  • 切实的应用建议,以及跟踪客户服务。
  • 研究遵循API618。
  • 及时、实际的建议。
  • 北塔有全职的现场工程团队,提供全球性的启动检查或现场服务。
  • 使用经过现场验证的脉动和机械振动模拟方法。其他公司只能提供理论性的结果,因为他们缺乏全职的现场工程师,无法提供在设计阶段必要的现场数据对模型进行精度调整。
  • 我们的客户支持服务位于美国的休斯敦;加拿大的卡尔加里;马来西亚的吉隆坡;以及中国的天津。
  • 北塔提供完整的集成振动解决方案——包括压缩机、泵以及管道系统的设计和现场支持。该方法能为您保证可靠性和综合管理的需求。
  • 北塔参与(领导)美国气体机械研究委员会进行工业研究项目。北塔也因此获得了专家级的知识累积和项目经验。
  • 北塔也是API和GMRC振动委员会的活跃成员。
3 客户利益

作为全球市场的压缩设计服务领导者,北塔能够提供一系列独一无二的服务和功能,包括精确的脉动和机械分析,为成撬商、工程公司和业主带来利益。这些利益包括更高的系统可靠性、最小的压降和能源损耗,更快的设计时间,优化的容器尺寸,以及更低的整体成本。 

其他利益包括:

  • 整个管道系统的脉动力控制
  • 管道系统和容器振动最小化
  • 完整评估工况范围
  • 综合平衡所有矛盾需求的建议(脉动控制、压降、机械约束条件和实施方案的可操作性)
  • 为现场分析和监测做出有效的报告和分析 
4 相关信息

热门文章:

压缩机技术( 期刊):

5 相关服务

与脉动和机械分析同时进行的其他常用分析:

6 关键词
  • API 618
  • 声学分析
  • 声学研究
  • DA2, DA3, M2, M4, M5, M5, M7
  • 受迫响应
  • 模拟法研究

返回页首


更多信息

Vibration, Dynamics & Noise

formerly BETA Machinery Analysis and SVT Engineering Consultants

Menu

Services

Pulsation & Mechanical Analysis: Reciprocating Compressor

This analysis includes a pulsation study, a mechanical review, mechanical frequency avoidance analysis, and, when required, a forced response analysis (per API 618, API RP 688 and GMRC High Speed Compressor Guideline).

API 618 Pulsation & Mechanical Analysis: Reciprocating Compressor station

For compressors below 750 RPM the study is conducted per API 618 requirements, the pulsation and vibration standard for slow speed compressors.  

For higher speed compressors, the GMRC High-Speed Compressor Guideline and API RP 688 are used to define the vibration requirements. The GMRC guideline is based on the API standards but has been augmented for the unique requirements of higher-speed compressors. 

This Pulsation and Mechanical Analysis is applied during the design stage. Along with this analysis, it is common to also have a Torsional Vibration Analysis, Small-Bore Piping Analysis, and other related engineering studies completed for a compressor package.

1 Scope

A vibration study includes different design components, depending on the risk and application. The standard requirements often include:

Depending on the application, the following studies may be required:

These services are typically bundled together to address all vibration risks associated with the compressors, including the off-skid piping system. Note that Wood Group can also support in managing vibration on pumps and associated piping systems at your facility.

The following two steps will help you determine which services are required for your compressor application:

  1. Determine the risk category for the application. Contact our application support for assistance or use Wood Group's (BETA) Risk Rating Chart (Excel)
  2. Based on the risk, determine the recommended scope of work. For more about the scope and options, see Design Requirements for Reciprocating Compressors
1.1 Pulsation (Acoustical) Analysis
Reduction in pulsation forces
   
As found Piping System
(No Pulsation Study)
After Wood Group Pulsation Study 
(Using Time Domain Solver)
High pulsation forces as found in piping system Pulsation forces reduced after BETA study

Forces above 11,000 lbf

Forces below 200 lbf, well below guideline

Pulsation (Acoustical) Analysis applies to “medium” and "high" risk units.
See our Risk Rating Chart (Excel)

DataMiner plot: Pulsation operating mapDataMiner pulsation forces

DataMiner post processing tool analyzes pressure pulsations, forces and other vibration issues – across hundreds of conditions and locations in the piping system. See why DataMiner provides extra value for your projects.  Read more

 Features include:

  • Bottle Sizing  An Online Bottle Sizing Tool is available as a starting point for compressor layouts. To enable early ordering of heads and shells, Wood Group can complete a more detailed pulsation bottle sizing assessment in 2-4 business days (typically).
  • Performance Verification  A compressor performance analysis can be used to assess the compressor’s operation across the entire operating envelope.
  • The standard service is to evaluate up to 20 operating conditions.
  • CAUTION: For some applications, the operating map cannot be thoroughly evaluated with just 20 points. Some important regions will be missed and could result in excessive pulsations. In these cases, additional conditions should be evaluated (see option 1.3, below).
  • Wood Group will assess pulsations and other dynamic loads for the supplied conditions, including pressures, temperatures, gas composition, clearances, valve unloading and speed ranges.  
  • Pressure Pulsations  Wood Group will assess the magnitude of pressure pulsations and pulsation induced shaking forces in the piping system using its MAPAK simulation software. Time Domain acoustic simulation is recommended for a more accurate pulsation analysis, as compared to the older Frequency Domain approach. More on pulsation software
  • Pulsation Control  Pulsations are controlled using acoustic filters, bottles, orifice plates, resonators and/or piping modifications. Pulsations (pressure and forces) are controlled to API 618 (most recent edition) or other field proven guidelines.
  • Cylinder Forces  Pulsations forces between the cylinder and pulsation bottles are also evaluated using Wood Group’s guideline, an advantage over other approaches.
  • Pressure Drop  As a standard feature, Wood Group will assess static and total pressure drop (per API 618 guidelines) for pulsation control devices such as orifice plates and choke tubes. Total pressure drop includes dynamic pressure drop losses. The impact of pulsation control on compressor load is evaluated and included in the report results.
  • Piping Restraint Analysis (Mechanical Review)  This includes an evaluation of pipe support locations using charts, empirical calculations and good engineering design practices.
  • Results and Reporting  Wood Group’s DataMiner software tool and reporting approach provide valuable information on the compressor’s pulsation predictions and performance. 
Acoustic model of compressor and piping system Pulsation bottle for Reciprocating Compressor

The acoustic model of the piping system (left) is used to determine pulsation pressure and unbalanced forces at all operating conditions and locations in the system. This example illustrates the 3rd interstage system.

The red arrows represent the magnitude of the forces. Pulsation control bottles (right) contain choke tubes, baffles and volume chambers. This will  filter and dampen pulsation and reduce forces to acceptable levels.
1.2 Mechanical Analysis
1.2.1 Frequency Avoidance

The first step in a Mechanical Analysis is to determine the Mechanical Natural Frequencies (MNFs) in the system, identify where and when resonance may occur, and provide recommendations to improve the design. 

This study is part of a Design Approach 3 (DA3) per API 618 terminology and includes the following features:

  • Finite Element (FE) Model  Wood Group will quickly generate an accurate FE model of the compressor, vessels, piping system and key areas of the skid (if applicable). For even more accurate results, a detailed model of the compressor frame and/or the full skid and foundation can be included in the model. Wood Group uses ANSYS for all FE models to ensure accurate results. Some piping FE analysis programs are not recommended for this application.
  • Accuracy  Complex geometries are accurately modeled using shell or solid elements. Rotational inertias are included. Boundary conditions such as scrubber base connections and cylinder details are accurately modeled based on Wood Group’s database from over 40 years of field testing actual compressor cylinders for most OEM’s.
  • Mechanical Natural Frequencies (MNFs)  The MNFs and mode shapes are determined for the key components in the system, with results published in the report.
  • Frequency Avoidance  MNFs shall have a 20% margin of separation above 2X compressor run speeds, and 20% away from other orders that have significant forces.
  • Results and Report  A detailed report is provided, summarizing recommendations and mechanical results. 

Find out more in this video: Mechanical Analysis for Reciprocating Compressors (Video)

FE model compressor piping system Reciprocating Compressor FE model Reciprocating Compressor FE model 2 Reciprocating compressor and piping FE model

A Mechanical Analysis requires accurate FE models (above) of the compressor piping system to determine MNFs and avoid resonance. Models are also used in Forced Response Studies (option below) to determine vibration and stress amplitudes. Field experience and measurements are required to accurately define boundary conditions, dynamic forces, and practical recommendations to avoid problems.

1.2.2 Forced Response Analysis

This analysis is required by API 618 when frequency avoidance recommendations cannot be achieved or implemented. The study includes all significant compressor forces (including cylinder gas forces, pulsation forces, torsional to lateral excitation – options noted below, etc.) and will evaluate vibration and stress to API 618 guidelines. There are two locations where this option is conducted:

  • Compressor Manifold System  (step 3b1, formerly study M.6 per API) involves analysis of the bottles, scrubber, and piping around the compressor frame; and
  • Piping away from the Manifold  (step 3.b.2 Piping Dynamic Stress Analysis (formerly study M.7). This is recommended when the pulsation force guideline cannot be met, or the Frequency Avoidance Analysis recommendations cannot be implemented.
1.3 Options

The following options are often added to the API 618 Design Approach 3 (DA3) study (or GMRC High Speed Guideline) described in Sections 1.1 and 1.2:

  • Reciprocating Compressors blue
     
    Reciprocating Compressor Analysis
     
    ​​Small-Bore Connections (SBC)  Wood Group provides a range of services to design, analyze, and test SBC, depending on the application and customer’s risk tolerance. For SBC service options
  • Additional Operating Conditions  (beyond the 20 conditions included in the standard study). For some applications defining 20 operating points will not sufficiently cover the range of operating conditions and load steps to ensure all potential pulsation and vibration problem areas are evaluated. Wood Group can provide assistance in defining the recommended number of conditions to analyze.
  • Torsional to Lateral Excitation  Evaluate the risk of torsional to lateral excitation on the compressor frame and manifold, vibration impact and mitigation options. This feature is recommended for high horsepower applications. When Wood Group conducts the torsional analysis, this service fee is minimal because there is close integration between torsional and mechanical analysis. The forces created by the torsional response of the crankshaft are calculated and are included as additional input in the forced response analysis. By including ALL significant forces acting on the compressor, Wood Group evaluates the vibrations and stresses as a system.
  • Off-skid or Station Piping  Wood Group will assess pulsations in piping away from the compressor package (if information is available). This added level of analysis is valuable when coolers and/or scrubbers are located away from the compressor package, or when pulsations need to analyzed in the headers and plant piping system.
  • Multi-unit Analysis (Interaction between units)  When multiple compressors are connected together in series or parallel, Wood Group will evaluate pulsations in headers and plant piping system, including interaction between units. This option applies to multiple reciprocating compressors, or a combination of reciprocating and centrifugal compressors.
  • Pulsation Power Loading (System Performance Analysis)  Pulsation control will result in pressure drop and power losses in the piping system. For a more accurate understanding of the power loss and the impact on compressor performance, this option will evaluate the pulsation loading in the entire piping system (including pulsation control elements). An updated compressor performance report is then provided, based on the accurate understanding of pulsation losses. This service is valuable to ensure the driver/compressors are adequately sized for critical applications such as pipeline compressors. 

The following options are occasionally required:

  • Reciprocating Compressors white
    Vessel Internal Stress Calculation  (formerly called M8, per API 618).  This analysis applies pulsation-induced shaking forces and pressure-induced static forces to the shell and vessel internals and calculates stress levels.
  • Compressor Valve Dynamic Analysis  (formerly called M9, per API 618).  This limited analysis will ensure that compressor valve natural frequencies are not within +/- 10% of any acoustical resonances and that pulsation levels at the valve do not exceed 2% of the line pressure at frequencies within +/-10% of the valve natural frequency. The full (enhanced) analysis will evaluated the interaction between the compressor valves and system pulsation.
  • Low Cycle Fatigue Analysis  (formerly called M10, per API 618). This analysis is used to predict the stresses from thermal gradients, thermal transients, and pressure cycles on the pulsation-suppression devices and internal components when required by Division 2 of the ASME code.  The stresses are compared to ASME-code.
  • Fuel Gas Booster Compressor - Receiver Sizing/Transient Study  This analysis will size a receiver to prevent transient starvation induced surge on a centrifugal compressor due to a sudden reduction in upstream pressure (often as the result of the loss of a reciprocating compressor). Wood Group will review the customer’s compressor control system logic and response characteristics and determine the appropriate system capacity between the reciprocating compressors and the centrifugal compressor to ensure surge will be avoided. Read more
  • Transient Surge Analysis of ESD Piping (Gas Blow Down)  With high pressure application such as gas storage with multiple compressors, high ‘fluid hammer’ forces and vibration will be generated when blow down valves are opened for ESD. The blow down analysis will help to determine the sequences and time interval of opening of blow down valves, and vibration impact to piping and supports. Wood Group will provide recommendations to control the time required for blowdown.
Modal Analysis on pulsation bottle to determine MNF and mode shape Model of Low Cycle Fatigue Analysis on pulsation bottle (M10) Vessel internal stress calculation (M8)
Modal Analysis on pulsation bottle showing MNF and mode shape. Low Cycle Fatigue Analysis (M10) on pulsation bottle. Vessel Internal Stress Calculation (M8). 
2 Wood Group Advantages

Wood Group – Vibration, Dynamics & Noise (VDN) is a global leader in pulsation analysis because of these unique factors:

BETA measuring vibration on reciprocating compressor
  • VDN (formerly BETA) pioneered the development of digital acoustic simulation in the 1970’s. Every year since then, the Company makes significant investments in acoustic simulation tools and field based verification to ensure its MAPAK software is world class. This Time Domain-based simulation includes non-linear fluid dynamics and time-varying boundary conditions; an important feature for modeling higher frequency acoustics. This important feature is not available with commercially available software used by small firms.
  • More standard features, including improved performance analysis, more accurate boundary conditions, and improved analysis of off-skid piping.
  • Better quality control and project management expertise. A focus on quality, technical reviews, and effective client communication yields a more successful project.
  • Responsive application advice and ongoing customer service.
  • Studies are compliant with API 618.
  • Timely and practical recommendations.
  • Wood Group has a full-time field engineering team to assist with start-up checks or onsite support on a global basis.
  • Pulsation and mechanical vibration modeling techniques are field verified. Other firms provide theoretical results because they lack full-time field engineers who provide the necessary field input and model verification into the design process.
  • Customer support through its staff located in Houston Texas; Calgary, Canada; Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; and Tianjin, China.
  • Wood Group offers a fully integrated vibration solution – including compressors, pumps and piping design and field support. This approach ensures you meet your reliability and integrity management requirements.
  • Wood Group conducts industry research projects for the Gas Machinery Research Council. As a result Wood Group has gained superior knowledge and expertise.
  • Active member in API and GMRC vibration task force committees.
3 Customer Benefits

As the global market leader in compression design services, Wood Group is able to offer a number of unique services and features, including accurate pulsation and mechanical analysis that benefit the packager, OEM, and customer. These benefits include higher system reliability, minimized pressure drop and performance losses, faster turnaround in the design, optimized vessel sizes, and lower overall costs. 

Compressor Middle East

Other benefits include:

  • Pulsation forces controlled throughout the piping system
  • Piping and vessel vibration minimized
  • Complete range of operating conditions evaluated
  • Recommendations provided that represent a balance of all competing requirements (pulsation control, added pressure drop, mechanical constraints and practicality of implementation)
  • Effective reporting and analysis for useful field analysis and monitoring 
4 Related Information

Popular Articles:

CompressorTech2:

5 Related Services

Common studies that may be coordinated with the Pulsation & Mechanical Analysis:

6 Key Words
  • API 618
  • Acoustic analysis
  • Acoustic study
  • DA2, DA3, M2, M4, M5, M5, M7
  • Forced response
  • Analog study

Back to top


More Info

©2017 Wood Group

JOIN OUR MAILING LIST Contact Us