Vibration, dynamics and noise

formerly BETA Machinery Analysis and SVT Engineering Consultants

Menu

管道振动案例

这里的案例说明了多种管道振动问题。客户需要进行高级振动分析来解决这些动态振动问题:流激振动(FIV)、声激振动(AIV)、以及其他常见问题。北塔建议,在设计阶段即进行管道振动评估,以避免在投产运行后,再进行昂贵的管道改造。

1 氢/丁烷气体压缩机(FIV案例)

该炼油厂使用了大型离心式压缩机。其管道系统如下所示(左图)。振动问题发生在为三个干燥机给气的汇管处。

正常情况下,气体经过两个干燥机,并未发生振动问题。当操作变化时,操作员仅使用一台干燥机。当气体只流经一台干燥机时,操作员测量到了汇管发生了较大振动,如红色箭头所示位置(上右图)。

客户雇佣了北塔现场团队进行问题的分析和处理。北塔在现场测量了固有频率、振动位移、压力脉动、操作振形以及其它参数。经过结果评审,确认了振动是由复杂的FIV问题引起的。请注意,FIV也被称为涡流分离或涡旋脱落。

一种解决方案是,通过改变进料汇管的长度,以及干燥机A和B进料阀间的距离,消除流体引发的激励。该做法代价昂贵,因此北塔设计了新方案,在特定位置安装支架,从而转移机械固有频率,避免共振。

我们建议在设计阶段,即为离心式压缩机系统进行FIV风险评估,可以避免投产运行后,再进行昂贵的管道改造。

2 涡轮膨胀机/增压式压缩机(FIV案例)

该深井燃气厂,需要工艺手段,去除天然气流中的乙烷和丙烷。为了节省能源,使用了涡轮膨胀机,来代替低效昂贵的焦耳汤普森阀门(Joule-Thompson Valve)。

该公司委托北塔来处理高架进气管道系统的严重振动问题。由于问题过于严重,导致操作人员担心管道故障事故,不愿意进入现场。如下图所示,该管道系统非常复杂,并有很多无连通管路。

北塔测量到15Hz时进气无连通管路的较大脉动,其与计算出的斯托哈尔频率(Strouhal frequency)一样。这就确定了,该激励力是由15Hz脉动引起的,是一个FIV问题。

标准的FIV问题,会在四分之一波长脉动固有频率(ANF)和激励频率(15Hz脉动)重合情况下发生;但在本例中的问题,比标准FIV问题要复杂的多。我们检测、分析了所有相关的盲管,发现没有一个符合15Hz频率(四分之一波长ANF)。

那么,如何解释这种管道共振和剧烈振动呢?

在评审了管道几何的更多细节之后,北塔发现组成汇管和盲管的整个管道部分有15Hz的ANF——这是很罕见的。在发现了FIV问题的根源之后,北塔即提出了减缓共振问题的改造建议。

该案例说明,评估ANF问题可能会非常复杂,需要专业的脉动分析工具以及分析技术。北塔的软件工具能提供高性价比的方法,在设计阶段即可辨别并避免此类风险。

3 离心式压缩机的FIV和AIV分析

客户雇佣北塔,为发电用的大型离心式压缩机进行管道振动评估。当该压缩机的循环阀处于40%开启状态时,检测到比23%开启状态时,更大的管道振动。

下图显示,主管道系统包括了热循环管和冷循环管。高振动区域如虚线圆圈所示。北塔的工程设计团队辨别出了许多可能发生FIV和AIV的区域,其都有可能成为激励源。

我们详细评估每个潜在的FIV和AIV区域,包括不同的操作工况(流量、温度等)。通过深入分析,北塔确定了可能导致问题发生的一个FIV区域和一个AIV区域。

建议改造阀芯,以降低AIV问题的风险。要减轻FIV问题,则需要避免特定的流量。这种方法并不是每次都有效的,因此需要提供其他方法。该案例就说明了FIV和AIV结合风险,对管道系统产生的影响。

4 商用燃气管道的振动问题(燃气厂案例)

在亚洲的一个天然气厂,30英寸(75厘米)的商用天然气管线存在高振动问题。在安装了新的噪音控制压力阀门后,主管道在高流/高压降工况时,会出现明显的振动。北塔员工执行了现场振动调查,设法找到控制管道振动和整体性问题的可能方案。

基于现场分析,控制阀上游管线的振动是由气流诱发的激励(FIE,也叫做FIV)引起的,发生于气体流经盲管时。盲管产生涡流,并被盲管中的驻波放大。脉动经管道传播并引起了振动。

有三个方案可以减轻激励力。这些选择包括:改造旁路阀的操作;略微改动无连通管路的接口处;以及通过移除回收阀,对管道的几何布局进行改动。

某些气流条件下,在膨胀循环管道中,能观察到非常高的振动。这些区域的管道支撑松散,管道系统中的不平衡力会导致这些管线中的高振动。如果FIV产生于控制阀附近的无连通管路,并无法控制,则可通过加固膨胀循环管道的刚度来控制振动。北塔为弯头处的支撑梁提出推荐方案。除了这些管道支撑建议之外,还需要进行管道应力分析,以保障这些另加支撑不会产生热应力问题。

Free webinar

Webinar

Learn how to quantify the performance of pipe supports for vibration service
Register now


返回页首


相关网页

Vibration, dynamics and noise

formerly BETA Machinery Analysis and SVT Engineering Consultants

Menu

Piping Vibration Examples

These examples illustrate various piping vibration problems. Advanced vibration analysis is required to solve these dynamic issues: flow-induced vibration (FIV), acoustic-induced vibration (AIV), and other common issues. BETA recommends that piping vibration be assessed during the design stage to avoid costly piping modifications during operations. See Piping Vibration and Integrity Assessment

1 Hydrogen/Butane Gas Compressors (FIV Example)

This refinery utilizes large centrifugal compressors. The piping system is shown below (left). Vibration problems occurred on the piping header feeding three dryers (right). 

Normally the gas flow travels through two dryers and no vibration issues occur but under regeneration, the operators use only one dryer. When flowing to one dryer, the operator measured high vibrations in the header as shown by the red arrows (above, right).

BETA’s field team was hired to analyze and address the problem. While onsite, BETA measured natural frequencies, vibration displacement, pressure pulsations, operating deflection shape, and other parameters. After reviewing the results it was confirmed that the vibration was due to a complex FIV problem.  Note that FIV can also be called Eddy Shedding or Vortex Shedding.

One solution was to eliminate flow-induced excitations by changing the length of the inlet header and the distance between Dryer A and B inlet valves. This was determined to be too expensive, so BETA designed supports to be installed at specific locations in order to shift the mechanical natural frequency away from resonance.

Evaluating FIV risks during the design stage is recommended for centrifugal compressor systems, and will avoid expensive piping modifications during operations. 

2 Turboexpander/Booster Compressor (FIV Example)

For this deep cut gas plant, the process removes ethane and propane from the natural gas stream. To save energy, a turboexpander is used instead of an inefficient, and therefore costly, Joule-Thompson Valve.

BETA was hired to address severe vibration in the overhead suction piping system. The vibrations were so severe that personnel did not want to be present in the building for fear of piping failure. As seen in the pictures below, the piping system is complex with many dead legs.

BETA measured high pulsations in the suction dead legs at 15 Hz, the same frequency as the calculated Strouhal frequency. This confirms the excitation force was due to the 15 Hz pulsations and is an FIV problem.

The standard FIV problem occurs when a quarter wave Acoustical Natural Frequency (ANF) coincides with the excitation frequency (15 Hz pulsations); but in this case, the problem was much more complicated than the standard FIV problem. All of the relevant dead legs were analyzed and it was discovered that none of them matched the 15 Hz frequency (quarter wave ANF).  

So what explains the piping resonance and severe vibration?

After reviewing the piping geometry in more detail, BETA discovered that an entire piping section comprising of the header and dead legs had a 15 Hz ANF – something very rarely seen. Once the source of the FIV problem was found, BETA recommended modifications to alleviate the resonance.

This example illustrates that evaluating ANFs can be complicated, requiring specialized acoustical analysis software and analysis techniques. BETA’s software tools provide a cost-effective approach to identify and avoid these risks during the design stage.

3 FIV and AIV Analysis for Centrifugal Compressors

BETA was retained to assess piping vibration in a large centrifugal compressor facility used for power generation. Higher vibrations were measured when the compressor’s recycle valve was 40% open compared to when it was only 23% open.

The following schematic shows the main piping system including hot and cold recycle.  The area of high vibration is shown by the dotted circle. BETA’s engineering design team identified many locations where FIV or AIV could be the source of the excitation forces.  

Each of the potential FIV and AIV locations were evaluated in more detail including different operating scenarios (flows, temperatures, etc.). Through this advanced analysis, BETA was able to identify one FIV location and one AIV that likely contributed to the problem.

Recommendations to modify the valve trim will reduce the risk of AIV problems. To reduce FIV problems, certain flow rates should be avoided. This is not always practical, therefore, other solutions were provided. This case illustrates the combination of FIV and AIV risks that affect piping systems.

4 Piping Vibration on Sales Gas Line (Gas Plant Example)

The 30 inch (75 cm) sales gas line had high vibration at this Asian Gas Plant. High vibration became evident on the main sales gas line under high flow / high pressure drop conditions following the installation of a new whisper trim pressure control valve. BETA’s staff conducted a site vibration assessment to determine the cause of and possible solutions to piping vibration and integrity concerns.  

Based on the field analysis, the vibration upstream of the control valve is caused by Flow-Induced Excitation (FIE, also called FIV) which is created when gas flows past a dead leg. The dead leg creates vortices, which are amplified by the standing wave in the dead leg. These pulsations travel through the pipe and cause it to shake.

Three solutions were identified to reduce the excitation forces. These options included: modifications to the operation of the bypass valve; a minor modification at the mouth of the dead leg; or modifying the piping geometry by moving the recycle valve.

Under some flow condition the piping at the expansion loops was observed to exhibit very high vibration. The piping in this area is very loosely supported and any unbalanced force in the piping system will result in high vibration on these lines. If the FIV created by the dead leg near the control valve cannot be controlled, then increasing the stiffness of the expansion loops will help control vibrations. BETA provided recommendations on adding beams to support the elbows. In addition to these piping support recommendations, a pipe stress analysis is required to ensure the additional supports do not create thermal stress problems.

Back to top

Related Pages