Vibration, dynamics and noise

formerly BETA Machinery Analysis and SVT Engineering Consultants

Menu

结构振动及其控制方法

(平台,浮式生产储运油轮)

动态载荷有多种形式。有两个参数可以描述这种载荷:量级和频率分布。当动态载荷的频率分布低于其所在结构的结构固有频率时,动态载荷可用静态载荷取代。有些人会称之为准静态分析或负荷,实际上这是提示它是通过对静载荷效应的预测来估算等效动态载荷的效应。大多数环境载荷(风、地震、浪、交通运输)可以被等效准静态力取代。

当动态载荷的频谱和其所在结构的结构固有频率在同一范围内时,这种近似取代就无效了。这种情况发生于大多数机械(压缩机、泵、引擎等),其所产生载荷的频谱,与其所在结构(平台、浮式生产储运油轮等)的结构固有频率重合。在这种情况下,只有通过动态分析,才能精确预测该结构对载荷的放大响应。这种载荷不能被等效准静态力所取代。

更具有挑战的问题是,实际上这些设备和安装撬块不能被视为黑盒。它们会和基础、平台或者浮式生产储运油轮相互作用;唯一可以了解该相互作用程度的方法,是进行包含基础分析的结构动态分析。这是一个关键的分析内容,如果忽略将极大程度降低机械的可靠性,并可能引发安全问题。

1 结构振动和共振
图1:海上结构的共振和振动是个常见问题

当压缩机、泵以及引擎产生的动态力,引起甲板横梁振动时,结构振动就产生了。这种振动导致管道故障、设备可靠性欠佳以及安全问题。振动是由于结构与机械共振而引起的。术语“共振”,指的是当动态力作用频率和支撑结构的结构固有频率吻合而产生的现象。共振时,力可能会被放大至20倍,并导致甲板横梁振动,超过安全运行极限。

请参见北塔的培训视频模块1获取更多关于共振的详细解释。

结构共振问题并不仅发生在大功率设备上,其也可发生在小型往复式泵或压缩机上,如下例所示。避免结构共振的最好方法就是妥善进行结构振动和动态设计分析

2 结构共振案例

结构共振是一个常见问题,但其是可以避免的。以下这些案例,和其它许多案例都可以说明结构振动和共振问题,以及避免结构振动所使用的方法(请联系北塔,了解细节):

图2:撬块和甲板横梁振动的现场测试
图3:评价风暴载荷,是准静态分析的一个例子。图片来自壳牌国际有限公司
  • 案例1:750 HP 燃气增压压缩机。即使有巨型甲板梁支持该撬块,结构振动仍超过振动标准允许值10倍(图2)
  • 案例2:小型泵系统引起的共振,振动造成传动系统持续故障,影响了关键生产过程的可靠性。
  • 案例3:在现有平台上安装新压缩机的项目。该安装项目的成功,说明了海上项目计划阶段和现场设备调试阶段的合理的技术需求的重要性。
  • 案例4:海上采油船上有三台大型压缩机安装在一个模块上。该案例研究说明了压缩机撬块动态和结构动力分析研究的整体方法。
3 结构振动分析和静态分析

我们建议为海上生产设备进行静态、准静态以及结构振动(动态)分析。由于这些术语容易混淆,以下我们将解释它们的不同,并说明其适用于何种评估。

静态分析    用于评估应力以及在计算定载荷下的部件弯曲。定载荷,亦可理解为在0赫兹(Hz)下的载荷。此类分析也可注重于撬块部件的形变,而形变会影响到设备对齐校准。

准静态分析    用于评估周期性载荷的影响,但仅适用于频率足够低(相对于设备固有频率而言)时,此时结构的惯性效应不会起作用。通常其频率低于每秒3个周期,或3赫兹。

结构振动(动态)分析    用于预测机械自身的动态力效应,以避免共振发生。动态载荷包括不平衡力、由设备未对中造成的作用力、脉动力、十字头力、气缸气体力、力矩以及其他力的作用(请见图表5,往复式压缩机的动态力示例)。这些机械产生的载荷发生于不同的频段,并会引起该频段的结构共振。

结构动态分析    用于评估振动等级和应力。控制结构的振动,对于控制相关设备、容器以及管道振动具有重要意义。如果撬块部件具有高幅振动,那么上述设备系统部件也很可能经受高幅振动。

以上三种分析的可应用载荷频率范围以及相关设计标准,列于图表4和表格1中(见下):

图表4:静态、准静态以及动态分析的设计标准
表格1:结构设计研究比较
静态分析 准静态分析 振动(动态分析)

载荷: 
 

  • 静载荷,包括永久性设备的重量
  • 热载荷包括由气温和压力变化产生的力
  • 压缩机和发动机的驱动转矩
  • 使用起重机或绞车移动时的升降或拖拽载荷。这些载荷包括一个载荷系数,考虑到吊装设备产生的突然停止或移动的影响(比如海上吊装)。通常这个载荷系数在1.15到2.0之间。
  • 倾斜,当船只倾向一边时,产生水平载荷。

载荷:​
 

  • 环境载荷,包括风浪、水流、地震、冰、地表运动以及发生于任何方向的静流压力
  • 建筑载荷,包括装载、运输和安装
  • 也可对某些载荷(比如风浪)的影响进行疲劳分析

载荷——往复式压缩机示例(其他载荷发生于泵中)

  • 载荷——往复式压缩机示例(其他载荷发生于泵中)
  • 由旋转和往复部件(比如曲轴、活塞组件)产生的不平衡力
  • 由气缸头部和曲柄端之间的压差产生的气缸气体力
  • 十字头力引发的垂直方向力
  • 管道系统的脉动力
  • 由部件未对中产生的力
  • 发动机的滚转力矩
  • 扭振,可能引发压缩机主机的水平振动
4 优化设计方法,可以降低重量、成本,避免共振

业内常见方法是增加甲板横梁的尺寸和占地。此方法会极大增加结构成本和设备重量——并不实用。并且,其也不能保证能够避免共振。

动态分析的方法是准备精确的有限元(FE)模型,包括动态载荷、撬块以及受到影响的结构部件。具有多年经验的北塔团队,已经研发出一系列专业化技术,来保证精确的有限元模型。已经过实践检验的模型,结合动态力分析,可用于识别共振发生的位置、评估可能的解决方案。

为压缩机或者泵机组设计钢结构支撑,需要考虑刚度、质量以及成本。高刚度有助于避免共振问题,但过度使用过大的横梁,将影响到重量和成本。优化设计方法可以判断在关键位置增加或减少材料,以最大程度增加刚度,降低成本。这项分析应当为业主节省相当可观的成本——其价值远远超出工程设计的投入成本。

5 结构动态分析与撬块动态分析和机械系统分析相结合

设计过程中,结构工程师将进行静态分析。一个结构振动分析,如果由象北塔这样的动态分析专家来进行,会将动态撬块分析与压缩机/泵系统的动态模型整合于结构振动分析中。

结构动态分析为什么要由专业的振动/动态工程公司(比如北塔)来完成呢?有以下几个原因:

  • 基于对机械动态力(频率、大小以及随运行工况的变化)的精确了解,才能进行动态分析评估。这些力,结构工程师无法确定,它们是通过脉动研究、机械分析以及其他分析确定的。
  • 相比静态模型,动态有限元模型有很多修改和变化。这些对模型的修改要基于平台或海上泊船的现场测试。需要利用振动测试设备、动态振动研究以及其他现场测量方法。
  • 需要合理的边界条件假设,来获得精确结果。在同样的动态载荷下,一个平台上的两个设备也许会有截然不同的振动效果。这是因为支撑结构的柔性影响了机器各自的动态行为。撬块和机械动力研究,整合了甲板模型,能保证精确的边界条件。
  • 基于北塔经验,我们会使用ANSYS或其他等效软件来进行有限元建模。为了提高分析有效性。北塔研发了专门技术,来将结构模型植入于动态建模软件中。

粗糙简化的结构动态分析方法,可能会导致高昂的代价。基于无数的现场经验,北塔研发出精确的、极具性价比的方案,适用于新项目,以及已建海上项目。

6 总结

结构共振是海上生产设备的常见问题,会引起管道和机械系统的故障。

当设备建好后,通过改造结构甲板横梁来修正振动问题,是非常昂贵的。更好的方法是在甲板或平台的指定区域进行结构振动分析。在设计阶段,对横梁方向和设计做出小更改,以避免共振发生,是十分容易的。动态分析和大型往复式和旋转式设备自身的振动分析往往是相辅相承的。

结构振动(动态)分析不应当和风浪载荷的准静态分析混淆。该分析是独立的,并与其他动态研究(撬块、泵或压缩机机组)相整合。

北塔机械分析具有几十年的专业经验,为生产设备进行专业的动态和振动研究,是全球的工程设计和现场服务的佼佼者。

图表5:常见的往复式压缩机动态力

如果您想获得更多信息或问询项目,请发送电邮至​ info@BetaMachinery.com

7 相关服务

返回页首

Vibration, dynamics and noise

formerly BETA Machinery Analysis and SVT Engineering Consultants

Menu

Structural Vibration and Ways to Avoid It

(Platforms, FPSOs)

Dynamic loadings take many forms. Two parameters can characterize such loadings: Their magnitude and their frequency content. Dynamic loadings can be replaced by static loadings when their frequency content is low compared to the natural frequency of the structure on which they are applied. Some people will refer as quasi-static analysis or loadings to remind themselves that they are actually predicting the effect of dynamic loadings treated as static equivalent. Most environmental loads (winds, earthquake, wave, transportation) can be replaced by quasi-static equivalents.

1 Structural Dynamic Analysis

When the frequency content of a dynamic loading and the natural frequencies of a structure are in the same range, then this approximation is no longer valid. This is the case for most machinery (compressors, pumps, engines, etc.) which produce loadings whose frequency content overlaps the natural frequencies of the structure on which they are mounted (platform, FPSO, etc.). In such a case, only a dynamic analysis will accurately predict the amplification of the response of the structure. Such loadings cannot be replaced by quasi-static equivalents.

What makes these analyses even more challenging is the fact that the machinery, its equipment and the mounting skid cannot be seen as black boxes. They will interact with the foundation, the platform or the FPSO and the only way to know the magnitude of this interaction is to conduct a structural dynamic analysis that includes the foundation. This is a critical consideration which when overlooked considerably reduces the reliability of the machine and might even cause safety concerns. 

2 Structural Vibration and Resonance
Figure 1: Resonance and vibration on offshore structures is a common problem

Structural vibration occurs when dynamic forces generated by compressors, pumps, and engines cause the deck beams to vibrate. This vibration leads to piping failures, poor equipment reliability, and safety concerns. The vibration is due to the structure being mechanically resonant. The term “resonance” occurs when dynamic forces coincide with the natural frequencies of the supporting structure. At resonance, the forces are amplified up to 20 times, and cause deck beams to vibrate above safe operating limits.

Refer to Wood's (BETA Machinery Analysis) Training Tools module 1 (video)for a more detailed explanation of resonance.

Structural resonance problems are not limited to larger horsepower equipment. They also occur with smaller reciprocating pumps or compressors, as the examples presented below clearly illustrate. Structural resonance is best avoided by a properly conducted Structural Vibration and Dynamic Design Analysis

3 Examples of Structural Resonance

Structural resonance is a common problem, but avoidable. These and many other examples illustrate structural vibration and resonance problems and methods used to avoid structural vibration (contact Wood for details):

  • Figure 2: Field testing for vibration on skid and structural beams
    Figure 3: Evaluating storm loading is one example of a Quasi-Static Analysis. Courtesy Shell International Limited
    Example 1: 750 HP fuel gas booster compressor. Structural vibration is 10 times allowable vibration guidelines, even with very large deck girders supporting this skid (figure 2)
  • Example 2: Small pump system caused resonance, vibration and continual failure of drive train components on affecting reliability on a critical process.
  • Example 3: Brownfield project involving the installation of new compressors on an existing platform. This successful installation illustrates the technical requirements involved in the design and field commissioning for offshore projects.
  • Example 4: FPSO with three large compressors mounted on one module. This case study illustrates the integrated approach between compressor skid dynamics and the structural dynamic analysis.
4 Structural Vibration Analysis vs. Static Analysis

Static, Quasi-Static, and Structural Vibration (Dynamic) Analyses are recommended for offshore production facilities. Since these terms can be confusing, this section explains the differences and who should be involved in the evaluation.

Static Analysis focuses on evaluating stress and buckling of members under constant loads. Constant loads can also be described as loads applied at a frequency of 0 Hertz (Hz). This type of analysis can also focus on deflection of skid members as they can affect alignment of equipment.

Quasi-Static Analysis evaluates the effects of loads that are periodic, but at a low enough frequency relative to the natural frequencies of the equipment package so that the inertia effects of the structure do not come into play. They tend to have a frequency of less than 3 cycles per second or 3 Hz.

Structural Vibration (Dynamic) Analysis predicts the dynamic effects of the machinery itself so that resonance can be avoided. Dynamic loads include imbalance, misalignment, pulsation forces, cross-head guide forces, cylinder gas forces, moments, and other forces (see Figure 5 for an example of dynamic forces in a reciprocating compressor). The machinery related loads occur across different frequency bands and can cause localized structural resonance.

Structural Dynamic Analysis focuses on evaluating vibration levels and stress. Limiting vibrations of structural members is important to control vibration of the equipment, vessels, and piping that are attached to it. If a skid member has high vibrations then these components will likely experience high vibrations also.

The applicable load frequency ranges and the associated design criteria for these three types of analysis are presented in Figure 4 and Table 1 (below).

Figure 4: Design criteria for static, quasi-static, dynamic analysis
Table 1: Comparison of Structural Design Studies
Static Analysis Quasi-Static Analysis Vibration (Dynamic) Analysis

Loads:    

     

  • Dead loads, including weight of permanent equipment
  • Thermal loads including forces created by temperature changes and pressure
  • Drive torque of compressors and engines
  • Lifting or dragging loads when moving the skid with cranes or winches. These loads can include a load factor that considers the impact from sudden stops or motion of the lifting equipment (e.g., offshore lifts). A load factor of 1.15 to 2.0 is common
  • List angle, which creates horizontal loads when a ship leans to one side

Loads:

 

  • Environmental loads including wind, current, wave, earthquake, ice, earth movement, and hydrostatic pressure occurring in any direction
  • Construction loads including load out, transportation, and installation
  • Fatigue analysis may be done on loads such as those caused by waves

Loads – Example from a reciprocating compressor (other loads occur in pumps):

 

  • Unbalanced forces created by rotating and reciprocating weights (e.g., crankshafts, piston assemblies)
  • Cylinder gas forces created by the differential pressure between the head end of a cylinder and the crank end
  • Vertical forces on the crosshead guides
  • Pulsation-induced shaking forces in the piping system
  • Misalignment
  • Rolling torque on engines
  • Torsional vibrations, which may cause horizontal vibrations of the compressor frame
5 Optimized Design Approach Reduces Weight, Costs and Avoids Resonance

One common industry approach is to increase the size and location of the deck beams. This approach can add significant construction costs and weight to the facility – beyond what is practical. It is also provides no guarantee that resonance will be avoided.

The recommended approach for dynamic analysis is to prepare an accurate Finite Element (FE) model of the dynamic load, skid, and affected structural members. Over the years, Wood has developed a number of specialized techniques to ensure accurate FE models. The approved model, combined with the dynamic forces, is used to identify local resonances and evaluate possible solutions.

Designing the structural steel supports for a compressor or pump package must balance stiffness, mass, and cost. High stiffness will help avoid vibration problems, but excessive use of over-sized beams will affect the mass and cost. An optimized design identifies where steel can be added or removed at key locations to maximize the stiffness and minimize the costs. This optimized approach will provide significant cost savings to the owner – far in excess of the cost of the engineering time. 

6 Integration of Structural Dynamics with Skid Dynamics and Machinery System

During the design process, the structural engineers will conduct the Static Analysis. A specialist in Dynamic Analysis, such as Wood, conducts the Structural Vibration Analysis because it is integrated with the Dynamic Skid Analysis, and the dynamic modeling of compressor/pump systems.

There are many reasons why a specialist vibration/dynamic engineering company (such as Wood) is mandated to complete the Structural Dynamic Analysis:

  • The evaluation is dependent upon accurate understanding of the dynamic forces from the machinery (frequency, amplitude, changes by operating condition, etc.). These forces are determined in pulsation studies, mechanical analysis, and other evaluations that are not conducted by Structural Engineers.
  • The dynamic FE model has many modifications and changes compared to the static model. These modifications are based on field testing of platforms and FPSO modules utilizing shaker test equipment, dynamic vibration studies, and other field measurements. Applying field results to FE models is needed to ensure accurate results. Wood has decades of field based dynamic analysis that results in better design assessments and more accurate calculations. 
  • Proper boundary condition assumptions are needed for accurate results.  Two identical units on a platform might behave completely differently when subjected to dynamic loads.  This is because the flexibility of the support structure influences their dynamic behavior. The skid and machinery dynamic studies are integrated with the deck model to ensure accurate boundary conditions.
  • Based on our experience, the FE model created in ANSYS or equivalent simulation software is required. To improve analysis efficiency, Wood has developed techniques to translate the structural model into the dynamic modeling software.

Costly problems have occurred when a simplified approach is used for Structural Dynamic Analysis. Based on numerous field experiences, Wood has developed an accurate and cost-effective approach for new or brownfield offshore projects.

7 Summary

Structural resonance is a common problem on offshore production facilities that causes vibration related failures on piping and machinery systems.

Once the facility is built, it is very expensive to modify the structural deck beams to fix a vibration problem. A better approach is to conduct a Structural Vibration Analysis of specific areas of the deck or platform. During the design phase it is easy to make minor changes to the beam orientation and design to avoid resonance. This dynamic analysis is coordinated with the vibration design of large reciprocating and rotating equipment.

Structural Vibration (Dynamic) Analysis should not be confused with Quasi-Static Analysis of wave and wind loads. This is a separate analysis that is integrated with other dynamic studies (skids, and pump or compressor packages).

Wood's vibration, dynamics and noise team (formaerly BETA Machinery Analysis) has decades of experience in conducting the dynamic and vibration studies for production facilities and is the global leader in these engineering design and field services.

Figure 5: Common Reciprocating Compressor Dynamic Forces
8 Contact an Expert

For more information or to talk to us about a project or operational issue, email your questions to info.vdn@woodplc.com.

8 Related Services and Information

Back to top

Related Pages